It’s been a while …

I haven’t blogged for a few days now – maybe even a week or so. I get stuck in the thinking of  – “I need to have something really interesting to say otherwise it’s not worth putting it in my blog”. Now that’s all well and good, but as with anything, the longer you don’t do it for the less you want to do it. The little voice in your head can be very convincing in its negativity sometimes.

So tonight I’m just going to blog about what’s going on. I always said if I had a blog that I didn’t want it to be a gossip column and that I wanted it to be a contribution to anyone who reads it. I also didn’t want it to become a “Days of Our Lives” thing where I tell you every time I’m going to scratch my nose.  So I’ll attempt tonight to be a contribution and not be tedious, while at the same time not having anything specific that I plan to write about.

Something that has really affected me this week is the tragic death of a friend in the tsunami in Samoa. My friend Viv died while on her last day of a 10 day holiday in Samoa. I hadn’t seen her for some time, but we did some pretty intensive courses together 3 years ago at Landmark Education where we got to know each other quite deeply. I then did another couple of 10-week seminars with her and got to know her even better. It’s hard to explain because the Landmark courses really allow you to get to know people in a very deep way very quickly – while at the same time getting to know yourself and how your past affects how you act in the present. So Viv and I probably knew stuff about each other that some of our closest friends and family don’t, purely due to the nature of the programs we did together.

When I was watching the news the other night about the tsunami and her face came up on the screen as the only Victorian at that time to be confirmed dead as a result of the tragedy, it was an incredible shock. I always feel so much for anyone involved in a tragedy, but in a selfish way I also hope and pray none of my friends or family are involved. This time it wasn’t the case.

Vivien was a beautiful person with an incredible love of life. The major consolation I can get from her death is that I know she lived her life fully and followed her passions. She was a wonderful teacher of drama (by all accounts), but I knew her as a wonderful human being; a person just like me – though  she was 20 years older – who had fears, doubts, insecurities, strengths, ambitions, etc etc. The wonderful thing about how I got to know Viv was that there was no divide between us due to age, background, job etc. We were just 2 human beings amongst many others trying to work out how to get the best out of ourselves and live a life we love – and contribute to others as much as we can.

I know Viv died having left nothing in the tank. She lived life to the fullest, loved her family and friends (and told them so), and completed many things from her past that had been holding her back. Some people have negative views about Landmark, but what it gave Viv was the opportunity to have lived a complete life, not driven by the past. I don’t care what negative stuff some people say, that’s what Landmark offers everyone, including me, and I recommend it to everyone. Anyone who says it’s a cult is talking rubbish. There are people out there who want to be negative and nothing will stop them from dragging others with them. Landmark Education is an amazing organisation that gives people the tools to live their lives powerfully and live a life they love. What people do with those tools is up to them, but I know I’m one person who is extremely grateful for all the tools because there’s no way I would even be writing on this computer without them. And Viv probably wouldn’t have been in Samoa having a wonderful holiday, knowing that she had given her all to life. Vale Vivien. I know you are resting in peace.

I didn’t plan to write about Landmark, but it’s been a huge contributor to my life (and how I met wonderful Viv), and I want to acknowledge that. During pregnancy 6 years ago I developed electrosensitivity – a condition which means I get intense migraine-like headaches from everything electrical or electromagnetic – that includes this computer, the tv, phones – fixed or mobile – the car, the heater, fluro lights etc etc. I thought my life was over and that I would never be able to contribute to the world in the way I wanted to.

Through the courses at Landmark I realised that I actually had a choice. That, yes, I get headaches from tv and computers, but I could actually still use them – I just get headaches from them. So suddenly I had a choice in the matter – live like a hermit, avoiding life (cos life these days revolves around electricity!) or have headaches but live my life. I’ve chosen the latter, and now I’m running a business that involves video cameras, television, computers and telephones. I now have a blog and a twitter account. And I have constant headaches. But I take medication at night, I sleep, and I start again each morning. I may not feel as fresh in the head as other people (I also have CFS), but I’m out there living.

All of the above is a choice I make – a choice I make day to day, hour to hour, but it gives me power that I never believed I had. And I’ve seen hundreds, probably thousands by now, of other people Landmark courses have made an incredible difference to. I love their programs and I love what they stand for. I sometimes hold back from saying that, in case people think negatively of me or think I’ve been sucked into something. But there it is. I love Landmark Education and I’m proud of it. Anyone who gives them half a chance would agree, I’m sure. Some just don’t give them that chance. If you get the opportunity to do one of their programs – and they’re all over the world so the opportunity’s there every day – do it. You won’t regret it.

Well, that’s my blog for today. I hope you got something out of it and now know me a bit better.

(Update: As of Nov 14th 2013 please contact me via email at louise@15minutepowerplayswithyourkids.com, visit the 15 Minute Power Plays With Your Kids ebook Facebook or Twitter Page or visit the website www.15minutepowerplayswithyourkids.com If you happen to stumble across this post and it’s NOT because I’ve linked to it from my book, pop over and say hi anyway :-). Please  DO NOT go to my previous website at www.itsmylifeproject.com.au as it has been hacked)

Cheers

Louise

Leave a Reply

